Men's EHF EURO 2014

The 11th Men's EHF EURO was hosted for the first time by the nation which is regarded as one of the sport's cradles: Denmark. 

The hosts entered the tournament as the red-hot gold medal favourites and convincingly made their way to the final without losing a match. However, it was France who dominated the tournament's last match from beginning to end to eventually beat Denmark 41:32 to take their third EHF EURO trophy following victories in 2006 and 2010.

In the match for third place, Spain beat Croatia 29:28. 

The EHF EURO 2014 set a new attendance record, with 316,000 spectators flocking to the arenas in Herning, Aarhus, Aalborg and Brondby to follow the matches.

Final Ranking

1. France 5. Iceland 9. Hungary 13. Serbia
2. Denmark 6. Poland 10. FYR Macedonia 14. Norway
3. Spain 7. Sweden 11. Austria 15. Czech Republic
4. Croatia 8. Hungary 12. Belarus 16. Montenegro

All-Star Team

Goalkeeper Niklas Landin (DEN)
Left wing Gudjon Valur Sigurdsson (ISL)
Left back Mikkel Hansen (DEN)
Centre back Domagoj Duvnjak (CRO)
Line player Julen Aguinagalde (ESP)
Right back Krzysztof Lijewski (POL)
Right wing Luc Abalo (FRA)
Best Defender Tobias Karlsson (SWE)
Most Valuable Player Nikola Karabatic (FRA)
Top Scorer Joan Canellas (ESP/50 goals)

Visit for a full tournament summary including all results and the EHF's Activities website for the tournament's quantitative analysis.